HARARI - Home Brew (1982)

Rufaro Records, ML 4636
Producers: Sipho Mabuse & Greg Cutler
(except 'Madala' by Sipho Mabuse, Greg Cutler & Condry Ziqubu)
Engineer: Greg Cutler (except 'Winning' by Keith Forsyth)
Arranger: Sipho Mabuse
Recorded at: R.P.M. Studios
Mixed at: Satbel Recording Studios


Late Harari release featuring an expanded personnel under the stewardship of Sipho "Hotstix" Mabuse, but minus the original Harari players like Om Alec Khaoli and Funky Masike Mohopi. 1982's Home Brew features the talents of Ray Phiri (The Cannibals, Stimela), Lionel Peterson, Khaya Mahlangu and Alistair Coakley (Hotline), among others (see below).


  1. Winning (S Mabuse) (5:25)
  2. Madala (C Ndlovu/C Ziqubu) (4:56)
  3. Highlife (S Mabuse/C Ndlovu) (3:54)
  4. Playing for the People (S Mabuse/C Ziqubu/C Ndlovu) (5:22)
  5. Rocksteady (S Mabuse/C Ziqubu/C Ndlovu) (4:32)
  6. Run for Your Life (S Mabuse/C Ndlovu) (4:20)
  7. Don't Give Up (S Mabuse) (3:43)
  8. Soweto Dawn (S Mabuse) (5:37)

  • Sipho "Hot Sticks" Mabuse: Drums, Flute, Piano (Soweto Dawn), Synthesizer, Percussion, Vocoder, Vocals, Timbales and Chimes, Fender Rhodes
  • Charles "Babas" Ndlovu: Piano, Fender Rhodes, Prophet V Bass synthesizer, Organ and Vocals
  • Thelma "Ndo" Segonah: Piano, Fender Rhodes, Prophet V Bass synthesizer, Organ and Vocals
  • Condry "Magic Fingers" Ziqubu: All Guitars and Vocals
  • Branny "Mzi" Ledwaba: Congas, Assorted Percussion, Shekere, Bells and Vibroslaps
  • Mzwandile "Zandi" Kente: Bass & Vocals
  • Isaac "Madala" Mofokeng: Vocals on 'Run for Your Life' & 'Rocksteady'
  • Lionel Petersen: Lead Vocals
  • Sipho "Master Blaster" Gumede: Bass on all tracks except 'Winning'
  • Jabu Sibumbe: Bass on 'Winning'
  • Khaya Mahlangu: All horns on 'Soweto Dawn'
  • Ray Chikapa: Guitar Solo on ' Winning'
  • Isaac "MCA" Mtshali: Drums on 'Winning'
  • Alistair Coakley: Guitar on 'Rocksteady'
Thanks SA Rock Encyclopedia.