ZASHA - Hayi Ngodlame (1989)

Teal Trutone, SUF2
Producer: Thapelo Khomo
Engineer: Ian Osrin

Funky, sophisticated Afro-pop where real musicians trump programmed beats. Fronted by singer Steven Mthimkulu and guitarist Skipper Shabalala, who recently made a comeback as a solo act. Produced by Thapelo Khomo, who also worked with acts like Kamazu, Pappa, Jabu Khanyile (Bayete) and more recently Simphiwe Dana. Dedicated to "our late brother 'Boxie' Lekalakala, who passed away in 1987". Hair by Superkurl, 68 Simmonds St, Joburg!

In a nod to their infuences, the title track features Coyote (v) and Jabu Sibumbe (bass) from Stimela, and Jimmy Mngwandi from Image. "Every brother is our brother, every sister is our sister". Highlights on this 6-track album include 'Stop That Game' and 'A Letter To My Family'. Other Zasha albums include Love Target (1986), I'll Be There For You (1991), Stop That Game (1992) and Save The World (1994).