NEW HORIZONS: Young Stars of SA Jazz Vol.2


Following a definitive first volume jam-packed with forward-thinking musical talent working in the South African creative improvised music idiom, New Horizons returns with a fresh iteration of young artists who continue in the same tradition and tone.

The compilation showcases recent recordings from 14 more leading lights in South Africa’s contemporary jazz scene: pianists Thembelihle Dunjana, Afrika Mkhize, Sibusiso ‘Mash’ Mashiloane, Blake Hellaby and Siphephelo Ndlovu’s The SN Project; saxophonists Sisonke Xonti, Muhammad Dawjee and Linda Sikhakhane; singer Spha Mdlalose; drummers Ayanda Sikade, Leagan Starchild and Tefo Mahola; and trumpeters Ndabo Zulu and Marcus Wyatt accompanied respectively by Umgidi Ensemble and The ZAR Jazz Orchestra. 

Together they form part of a vibrant, connected community charting new sonic territory that speaks to today’s troubled times while building on the country’s unique and proud jazz history.


A1. Thembelihle Dunjana – Pressin’ On
A2. The SN Project - Afrikanization 
A3. Sisonke Xonti - Sinivile
A4. Muhammad Dawjee ft. Siphephelo Ndlovu - Otherness
B1. Tefo Mahola - First Offering
B2. Ayanda Sikade - Zimkhitha    
B3. Linda Sikhakhane - Inner Freedom
C1. Sibusiso Mash Mashiloane - Ke Mashiloane
C2. Marcus Wyatt & The ZAR Jazz Orchestra - Race for Timbuktu
C3. Spha Mdlalose - Indlela 
D1. Blake Hellaby - Hodge 
D2. Leagan Starchild ft. JustHlo – Fiend [vinyl only]
D3. Ndabo Zulu & Umgidi Ensemble - Nandi’s Suite (interlude ii)
D4. Afrika Mkhize - Be Still

© 2021 Afrosynth Records


LINER NOTES: Tseliso Monaheng

COVER ART: Michael McGarry

MASTERED BY: Wouter Brandenburg

DISTRIBUTED BY: Rush Hour, Amsterdam

Order AFS051 here.

No comments:

Post a Comment