AYOBAYO BAND - Sorry Bra (1989)

Roi/Music Team, RLLPC061
Producer: Zenzele 'Sister Monica' Magwaza
Engineer: Mr Mixer
Composed by: ZE Mntungwa
Recorded at: 338

"The eighties saw the mushrooming of 'Mapantsula' dance groups both in urban and rural areas. In 1987 almost every group was dancing to J.M. Silk's album 'Hold On To Your Dream'… Local record companies responded to this with groups like The Hard Workers, Ayobayo Band and Makhweru. The Hard Workers' album Ayoba-Yo featured the hit 'Take Away' composed by Mphix on Music Team's Red Label. The success of the album saw the formation of the group Ayobayo Band, which released albums like Hey Ta Da engineered by Danny Bridgens on the same Music Team label." (Mojapelo, 2008:76). 

On Sorry Bra the band puts out impressive, mostly instrumental electronic dance music that foreshadows the rise of kwaito a few years later. Other tracks include 'Majida', 'Drunken Man', 'Homeless Man', 'Giyane Special' and 'Durban Station'. The band also released Phuza Face (not to be confused with Banjo's album of the same name). 

* Mint copies of this album are for sale here